Six area players on Texas Oil Bowl squad
Nick Gholson, Times Record News

Six players from the Wichita Falls area have been selected to play in the 66th Oil Bowl football game.
Hirschi tight end Mark Crowe, Wichita Falls High running back Kip McCarthy and Rider offensive lineman Kevin Compton will be on the Texas all-star roster for the annual Maskat Shrine Temple charity game on June 21 in Memorial Stadium.
Also representing the area on the Texas team will be City View defensive back Gus Barnes, Petrolia running back Ross Harrison and Holliday kicker Lee Price.
Todd Dodge, the offensive coordinator for Texas, will bring two players off his Class 5A Division II state championship team - quarterback Chase Wasson and 6-7 wide receiver Scott Chandler.
Wasson, who has signed with Southwest Texas State, threw for 4,822 yards and 54 touchdowns and ran for 1,062 yards and 14 TDs his senior season.
Chandler, who signed with Iowa, caught 67 passes for 1,200 yards and 19 touchdowns.
James Battle, the talented quarterback who led Denton Ryan to back-to-back Class 4A state titles, will also be on the roster, as will his favorite receiver, Phillip Jones.
Battle, a TCU signee, threw for 2,989 yards and 31 touchdowns and ran for 872 yards and 19 touchdowns his senior season.
Jones caught 73 passes for 1,485 yards and 21 TDs.
The Oklahoma all-stars also have an impressive lineup, which includes quarterback Donovan Woods of Oklahoma City.
Woods is the younger brother of Oklahoma State’s All-American wide receiver Rashaun Woods.
The young quarterback is also headed to OSU this fall, giving the Cowboys three Woods brothers on the roster. D’Juan Woods will be a sophomore wide receiver.
Thirty-eight colleges will be represented in this year’s Oil Bowl. Oklahoma has the most players with six, followed by Oklahoma State with four, Texas A&M with three and Air Force with three.
This year’s game will be dedicated to Skip Hicks, a former Burkburnett star running back who played in the 1991 Oil Bowl. Hicks set school records and was an All-American at UCLA and has played for Washington, Tennessee and Carolina in the NFL.
Former Dallas Cowboys linebacker D.D. Lewis will be the speaker for the Oil Bowl banquet on June 20.

This is the Texas Oil Bowl football roster for 2003.
Chase Wasson, 5-11, 180 QB, Southlake Carroll (SW Texas State)
James Battle, 6-2, 205 QB, Denton Ryan (TCU)
Scott Chandler, 6-7, 210 WR, Southlake Carroll (Iowa)
Jeff Fillmore, 6-2, 180 WR, Brenham (Houston)
Alonzo Dotson, 6-5, 220 DE, Alief Hastings (Oklahoma)
Brad Girtman, 6-6, 300 DT, Spring Branch Memorial (Oklahoma State)
Bruce Davis, 6-4, 225 DT, Clear Creek, (UCLA)
Lionel Dotson, 6-4, 235 DE, Pasadena Dobie (Arizona)
Tony Jones, 5-11, 190 LB, Cy-Falls (Blinn JC)
Lamar Mitchell, 6-1, 235 LB, Dayton (Texas A&M)
Eddie Simpson, 6-2, 200, LB, Galena Park North Shore (Northwestern)
Derek Cumbie, 5-10, 170 DB, Bay City (Air Force)
Alfred Mike, 6-0, 180 DB, Houston Madison (Grambling)
Johnny White, 6-2, 200 DB, Pearland (Wisconsin)
Willie Hordge, 5-11, 185 DB, Forest Brook (Arkansas)
Gus Barnes, 5-11, 170 DB, City View (E. New Mexico)
Sirron Simmons, 6-5, 258 DE, Crandall (UTEP)
Justin Foyt, 6-3, 220 DE, McKinney (undecided)
Jordan Case, 6-2, 205 LB, Forney (undecided)
Lee Price, 6-0, 175 P-K, Holliday (E. New Mexico)
Ross Harrison, 6-1, 210 RB, Petrolia (Midwestern State)
Tate Pittman, 6-6, 280 OL, Odessa Permian (Texas A&M)
Casey Graves, 6-1, 270 C, Burleson (Texas A&M-Commerce)
John Kelly, 5-9, 180 DB-RB, Namaan Forest (Texas A&M)
Cole Parks, 6-4, 240 OL, Stephenville (Stephen F. Austin)
Phillip Jones, 5-1, 175 WR, Denton Ryan (Oklahoma State)
Limas Sweed, 6-5, 205 WR, Brenham (Texas)
Brandon Diles, 5-11, 190 RB, Abilene Cooper (Tulsa)
Thurston Hughes, 6-3, 300 OL, Arlington Sam Houston (Arkansas State)
Justin Broen, 6-4, 285 OL, Colleyville Heritage (SMU)
Kyle Thornton, 6-4, 320 OL, St. Mark’s (Texas)
Kevin Compton, 6-1, 260 OL, WF Rider (undecided)
Mark Crowe, 6-2, 215 WR, WF Hirschi (Midwestern State)
Kip McCarthy, 5-11, 170 WR, Wichita Falls High (Air Force)
Dhatra Trivedi, 6-1, 265 OL, Wylie (Fort Hays State)
Taurence Rawls, 6-0, 190, Garland (Texas Tech)
Joseph Hankins, 6-1, 225 RB, Weatherford (undecided)
Coaches: Glen West , Brenham (head coach); Mike Coker, Galena Park (defensive coordinator); Todd Dodge, Southlake Carroll (offensive coordinator)

This is the Oklahoma Oil Bowl football roster for 2003.
Jarod Naylor, 6-3, 255 DT, Tulsa Unions (New Mexico St.)
Chris Finn, 6-2, 290 DT, Westmoore (undecided)
Brandon Thompson, 6-5, 250 DT, Putnam High (undecided)
Chase Pistole, 6-3, 230 DE, Moore, (NEO)
Blake Smith, 6-3, 245 DE, Tulsa Union (Colorado State)
Kyle Smith, 6-4, 270 DE, Guthrie (undecided)
Dan Townsend, 6-2, 220 LB, Sulphur (Oklahoma)
Logan Brosky, 6-3, 205 LB, Pryor (NEO)
Michael Clark, 6-2, 220 LB, Moore (NEO)
Kody Impson, 6-0, 210 LB, Chickasha (USMA)
Grant Jones, 5-11, 185 RB, Pawnee (Oklahoma State)
Chris Parsons, 6-1, 175 DB, Moore (Northern Iowa)
Ryan Hatchell, 6-2, 200 DB, Westmoore (SW Okla. State)
Taylor Russell, 6-2, 190 DB, Westmoore (undecided)
Zack Edwards, 5-10, 175 DB, Jenks (Central Oklahoma)
Royce Street, 6-0, 175 DB, Seminole (undecided)
Paul Smith, 6-3, 178 QB, Owasso (Tulsa)
Mick Majors, 5-11, 175 RB, Broken Arrow (Missouri Southern)
Donovan Woods, 6-2 205 QB, Millwood (Oklahoma State)
Trey Hammond, 6-0, 210 QB, Cleveland (undecided)
Travis West, 5-8, 175 RB, Putnam City (Oklahoma)
Spencer McIllwain, 5-10, 185 RB, Tulsa Union (NMSU)
Courtney Tannial, 5-10 210 RB-LB, Glenpoo, Oklahoma
Roland Garrett, 6-0, 170 WR Edmond SF (Tulsa)
Aaron Ivey, 5-8, 165 WR, Putnam City North (undecided)
Kennon Webb, 6-3, 190 WR, Guthrie (NEO)
DaMarko Jones, 5-11, 170 WR, Guthrie (Pittsburg State)
A.J. Burdex, 6-3, 180 WR, Chickasha (Northwestern)
Bryan Zimpel, 6-5, 295 OL, Broken Arrow (Oklahoma)
Buddy Combs, 6-4, 280 OL, Tahlequah (Oklahoma)
Todd Zogleman, 6-3, 265 OL, Owasso (SW Oklahoma State)
Jeff Huntzinge, 6-3, 270 OL, Tulsa Union (Illinois State)
Clint Dillard, 5-10, 215, C, Cleveland (undecided)
Ted Crump, 6-2, 280 OL, Jenks (Air Force)
Luke Roberts, 6-1, 170 K, Deer Creek (undecided)
James Drury, 6-0, 245 DT, Jenks (Wofford)
Coaches: Jim Frazier, Cleveland (head coach); Jim Burton, Putnam City (defensive coordinator); Ty Prestidge, Mustang (offensive coordinator)